Contact Information

New York

We Are Available 24/ 7. Call Now.

A New Touch Of Africa debuts ANTOA Writing Contest 2021: Stories That Touch (AWC2021) to amplify the African voice from across the globe through poetry and fiction.

The ANTOA Writing Contest (AWC) 2021 opens for submission on 1st April 2021 and closes on 1st July 2021 in two categories: poetry and fiction. The winners will be officially announced on our website and social media platforms by November 2021 following the shortlist announcement. All works will be expertly judged based on creativity.

ANTOA Writing Contest Prize Categories:

1st Winner: $100
2nd Winner: $50
3rd Winner: $30

1st Winner: $100
2nd Winner: $50
3rd Winner: $30

ANTOA Writing Contest Eligibility

The contest is open to all poets and fiction writers of African origin from across the globe at age of 18 and above.

Guidelines for AWC 2021:

  1. Entries should be in any of the categories:
  2. Poem or fiction must be the original work of the entrant and must be unpublished.
  3. Poem must be titled and must not exceed 30 lines (single spaced).
  4. Fiction must be titled and must not exceed 500 words (double spaced).
  5. Poem and fiction must revolve around Africa positively.
  6. No specific theme, use any style, font, and size of your choice.
  7. Poem or fiction should be in English and in black and white.
  8. Poem or fiction must be in a single Word document with a cover page containing: entrants’ name, nationality, country of birth, full address including country of permanent residence, personal email address and telephone number.
  9. The document should be saved with the entrant’s name. Entrants should submit not more than 1 poem or fictional story.
  10. As part of our requirements, follow us on Twitter (@ANewTouchOfAfr1) and Instagram (@anewtouchofafrica) before or after submission.
    All entries must be submitted as attachments via email with the subject “ANTOA Writing Contest”: only to

By submitting for the contest you’re giving ANTOA the right to publish your work at any point in time whether or not you emerge as one of the winners. The winners will be notified via email to provide a biography and photograph for official publication.

Entrants may be contacted in future for a virtual interview to discuss their unique experience in Africa. We’re looking forward to reading your masterpiece 🙂

Please note that email enquiries about the guidelines, request to re-edit, and the decision of the judges will not be answered.

MEET THE AWC2021 Judges:


Teniola Tayo is the Director of the Abuja Literary and Arts Festival. She is also a public sector consultant and a literary enthusiast that is passionate about the development of the creative sector in Africa. She is a Chevening Scholar and has a Masters degree from the London School of Economics.


Romeo Oriogun is the author of Sacrament of Bodies and an MFA candidate at Iowa Writers’ Workshop. He won the Brunel International African Poetry Prize in 2017. His The Origin of Butterflies is one of the works selected by by Kwame Dawes for the APBF New-Generation African Poets Chapbook Series. He is a fellow of the Ebedi International Writers Residency and currently a W.E.B. Du Bois Fellow at the Hutchins Center for African and African American Research at Harvard University. His works have been published in Vassar Review, McNeese Review, Prairie Schooner, and others.


Dr. Ifeanyi McWilliams Nsofor is an author at Nigerian Health Watch. In March 2020, He was recognized by Onalytica as one of the Coronavirus Top 100 healthcare professionals globally. He was selected by NewAfrican Magazine as one of the 100 most influential Africans of 2020. He is a Senior New Voices Fellow at the Aspen Institute and a Senior Atlantic Fellow for Health Equity at George Washington University. He is a graduate of the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine and Nnamdi Azikiwe University Medical School. In 2016, he was a DAAD Scholar for the Modern Teaching Methods short course at Ludwig-Maximillian University, Munich, Germany.


Rasaq Malik is a graduate of the University of Ibadan, Nigeria. In 2017, he was shortlisted for Brunel International African Poetry Prize. He is a two-time nominee for Pushcart Prize and Best of the Net. His work has been published in Grey Sparrow, Connotation Press, Spillway, Michigan Quarterly Review, Jalada, Poet Lore, and others.