Basketball Africa League: 4 teams down, 8 up for the playoffs

12 African teams began the chase for the inaugural Basketball Africa League (BAL) season trophy in high hopes of lifting the trophy and putting their names on the wall of BAL history.

With 4 teams out of the race now, 8 teams from Angola, Cameroon, Egypt, Morocco, Mozambique, Rwanda, Senegal and Tunisia qualified for the playoffs.

The quarterfinals matchups have been done and game schedules for the semifinals, third place game, and the first BAL final have been equally drawn out.

The final will be played at the Kigali Arena in Rwanda. It will be broadcasted to fans in 215 countries and territories in 15 languages.

Meet The Survivors:

  • Atlético Petróleos de Luanda (Angola)
  • A.S. Dourness (Senegal)
  •  A.S. Salé (Morocco)
  •  F.A.P (Cameroon)
  •  Ferroviário de Maputo (Mozambique)
  •  Patriots B.B.C. (Rwanda)
  • U.S. Monastir (Tunisia)
  •  Zamalek (Egypt)

The Basketball Africa League draws and schedules

Wednesday, MAY 26

F.A.P (7) vs. Zamalek (2) 11.30 a.m. ET // 3.30 p.m. GMT // 5.30 p.m. CAT

A.S. Salé (6) vs. Atlético Petróleos de Luanda (3) 3.00 p.m. ET // 7.00 p.m. GMT // 9.00 p.m. CAT

Thursday, MAY 27

A.S. Douanes (8) vs. US Monastir (1) 11.30 a.m. ET // 3.30 p.m. GMT // 5.30 p.m. CAT

Ferroviário de Maputo (5) vs. Patriots B.B.C. (4) 3.00 p.m. ET // 7.00 p.m. GMT // 9.00 p.m. CAT

Saturday, MAY 29

Semifinals Game 1: 8.00 a.m. ET // 12.00 p.m. GMT // 2.00 p.m. CAT

Semifinals Game 2: 11.30 a.m. ET // 3.30 p.m. GMT // 5.30 p.m. CAT

Sunday, MAY 30

Third Place Game: 6.30 a.m. ET // 10.30 a.m. GMT // 12.30 p.m. CAT

Finals: 10.00 a.m. ET // 2.00 p.m. GMT // 4.00 p.m. CAT.

By Elijah Christopher

Elijah Christopher

Elijah Christopher is a journalist at A New Touch Of Africa, is also a creative writer, a poet, and an IT enthusiast. He contributed to the collaborative poem written in celebration of Edwin Morgan Centenary, the first Glasgow poet laureate and Scottish national poet from the University of Glasgow. He loves meeting people and learning about new places, cultures, events, and lifestyles.

Scroll to Top
X