Contact Information

New York

We Are Available 24/ 7. Call Now.

Following the request by The 36 state governors of the federation, under the aegis of the Nigeria Governors’ Forum (NGF), to meet President Muhammadu Buhari over the current level of insecurity, the  rattled President has hurriedly summoned a meeting of Nigeria’s security council 

The governors, while reacting to last week’s attack on the convoy of their Borno State counterpart, Prof. Babagana Zulum, by suspected Boko Haram members said they were appalled by the degeneration of security despite the federal government’s efforts.

The governors, who were delighted that Zulum was unhurt in the attack, regretted the injuries sustained by two members of the Civilian Joint Task Force (CJTF) and a police officer attached to the governor’s convoy and prayed for their quick recovery.

Their position was contained in a letter of solidarity written to Zulum by the NGF’s Chairman and Governor of Ekiti State, Dr. Kayode Fayemi.

Buhari’s security council meeting will review the security situation in the country.
Present at the meeting that took place this Tuesday afternoon were Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, the Chief of Staff to the President, Professor Ibrahim Gambari, the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, (SGF), Boss Mustapha, and the National Security Adviser (NSA), Major General Babagana Monguno (retd).

Also present were the service chiefs led by the Chief of Defence Staff, General Gabriel Olonisakin, the Chief of Army Staff, Lieutenant General Tukur Buratai, the Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok-Ete Ekwe Ibas and the Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

Others are the Inspector General of Police (IGP), Mohammed Adamu, Director-General of Department of State Services (DSS), Yusuf Bichi, and the Director-General, National Intelligence Agency (NIA), Ahmed Rufa’i.

Cabinet members in attendance were the Attorney-General of the Federation (AGF) and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami, the Minister of Interior, Rauf Aregbesola, the Minister of Defence, Bashir Magashi, the Minister of Police Affairs, Maigari Dingyadi, and the Minister of State for Foreign Affairs, Ambassador Zubairu Dada.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *